The Science of Story

Posted on Updated on

Yesterday I mailed my sketchbook for this year’s Sketchbook Project: Limited Edition off to the Art House Co-op in Brooklyn. The theme I chose was “The Science of Story”, and I’m really pleased with the way it turned out. I’m excited to see which page they choose to include in the Limited Edition book that will be published later this year.

Here are some images from my sketchbook:

Two of the images, A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings and The Old Man and the Sea, are available for purchase in a number of formats on my Society6 page.

In other exciting news, I sold a story to See Spot Run, the creative arts magazine published by Alma College. “Across the Fence” appears in the current (April) issue.

Looking forward to sharing more good news with you soon!

3 thoughts on “The Science of Story

    peggyevans said:
    May 14, 2012 at 6:00 pm

    Amy, what is the story behind the ‘The Yellow WallPaper’? It looks kinda creepy, though I see you like creepy, but really, what is the story behind that? I can understand the others. I see the face, well, pumkin head in there but can’t for the life of me recall what it could mean. But, I will say, my favorite of the four pages of your sketchpad is ‘The Telltale Heart’, now that’s creepy!

    Amy K. Nichols responded:
    May 14, 2012 at 7:23 pm

    In the short story “The Yellow Wallpaper” by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, a woman is put in a room to convalesce. The room has yellow wallpaper. The convalescent begins seeing a woman hiding in the stripes of the wallpaper, and slowly loses her mind. It’s a powerful story. One of my faves. I was trying to represent the creepiness of the woman in the wall paper, and the woman losing her mind.

    Amy K. Nichols responded:
    May 14, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Leave a Reply

