She fell in love with a man from the stars…

Posted on Updated on

Just recovering from watching Doctor Who The End of Time, Part Two. A good ending. Sad, though. Terribly sad, the last fifteen minutes. I’m glad they went easy on the part where he sees Rose for the last time. Just knowing he would see her again had me in tears long before the scene arrived. Very sad he was alone when he regenerated. And his last words…gut-wrenching.

A good ending, though. And a great ride.

You always remember your first doctor.

*blows nose*

I want to write a character that memorable. A character people love so much that they grieve when the story ends.

Hats off to David Tennant and Russell T. Davies. Looking forward to what Steven Moffat has in store for us next.

12 thoughts on “She fell in love with a man from the stars…

    StrayfishFiction said:
    January 3, 2010 at 8:58 am

    What did I tell you?! Just lie still in a darkened room for a while and have someone peel you grapes until you are able to face the Tennantless world. Matt Smith will, I think, scrub up nicely. There was a fab reference to his rather prominent jawline in the first few moments as in ‘Hair – lots of hair – I’m a girl! Fingers, legs, chin – oh blimey!’ and then some superb doctoral whooping. I’m up for the ride come spring!

    Amy K. Nichols said:
    January 3, 2010 at 10:07 am

    I hope you’re right about Mr. Smith. Color me skeptical. Though the “I’m a girl!” comment did make me laugh. 🙂 We’ll see…

    In the meantime, the pulled shades and peeled grapes are helping.

    StrayfishFiction said:
    January 3, 2010 at 10:48 am

    There, there…

    Kara said:
    January 9, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Hi Amy, thanks for stopping by my blog!

    It’s been about a week since TEOT, and we are still digesting it at my house. Nine was actually my Doctor, but I was so sorry to see DT go. And like you, I hated that he regenerated alone, but I loved that he has his moment with Rose, and when the Ood said they would sing to him……well! I’d lasted that long, and then the waterworks burst!

    Have you read RTD’s The Writer’s Tale? I got it for Christmas and hope to dig in to it soon. I also read yesterday that he’s written a follow-up, in which he discloses, among other things, just who the mystery woman was. I have my theory–I’ll find out if I’m correct. But for now it’s back to Classic Who until Easter time brings the return of 11!

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      January 12, 2010 at 12:51 pm

      Apologies for the late response. I liked Eccleston, too. “Blink” was the first episode I ever watched, but then jumped into the season of Doctor #9. I thought he was great, too. But DT made me swooooooon, LOL! I loved when the Ood sang to him. I was already crying by that point, but if I hadn’t been, that certainly would have triggered the tears.

      I haven’t read The Writer’s Tale. Haven’t even heard of it. Thank you so much for telling me about it. Also, about the follow-up. I think that mystery woman was the Doctor’s mum. Are you willing to share your theory?

    StrayfishFiction said:
    January 9, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    Whoa, I have to find this! RTD has precipitated a most unlikely Second Coming so I really need to read this. In the meantime, ladies, please be assured that you will recover. My first Doctor, before anyone was thinking of such things, was William Hartnell and frankly, it wasn’t too difficult to get over him as the totty factor was so far from the Beeb’s thinking as to aproximate a form of heresy. He was Authority. Reliable. a Grandad. That’s all us ‘young gels’ needed to know, especially as it was aimed at boys. It wasn’t really until Tom Baker came along that hormonal undercurrents began to pull and I recall taking up with a large-hootered young man of similar conformation for reasons that had little to do with his own personal attributes. I have loved and lost subsequent Doctors and here I am, pushing 62, and ready to lust after the 11th. Yay! What a life eh?!

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      January 12, 2010 at 12:56 pm

      Haha! Thank you for the entertaining and reassuring comments! This is great. 🙂 My hubby watched the Tom Baker episodes when he was a kid, so he understands the history of it, the coming and going of Doctors. He just rolled his eyes when I was bawling mine out as DT regenerated. 🙂

    Kara said:
    January 12, 2010 at 12:58 pm

    I’m happy to give my theory 🙂 I, too, think she is the Doctor’s mother. The only proof I have is that they played the Doctor’s theme when she revealed her face. And he looked so stricken when he recognized her….. Funny, I was thinking about it this morning driving my daughter to school (we were listening to the Soundtrack from Season 3, and the song about Gallifrey was playing)–how horrible must it have been for the Doctor to have to send Rassilon back into the Time Lock, knowing that it was taking her back, too.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      January 12, 2010 at 1:12 pm

      Oooh, I didn’t realize the theme was playing when they showed her. Very observant of you! The look on his face, like you said, is what made me think she’s his mum. Reading your comment gave me goosebumps. Think I’ll have to watch the episode again — with tissues at the ready.

    Kristi(e) said:
    January 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    I believe I am the only person to think this, but I do not believe that the Doctor regenerated alone. Physically, yes, but after getting a proper goodbye from all his loved ones (Rose!) I feel like it is safe to say that he regenerated with the most emotional company of any of the previous doctors.

    Speaking of the emotional impact, Rose was so precious and their interaction was so wonderful and exactly what the Doctor needed to move on. In fact, I’m starting to tear up thinking about it presently, so I’m just gonna go ahead and stop this comment here.

      Kara said:
      January 15, 2010 at 4:24 am

      Agreed–the good-bye to Rose was just fantastic.

    BookMoot said:
    January 21, 2010 at 10:53 pm

    DT is MY first Doctor. I haven’t watched this yet. Waiting for my support group.

Leave a Reply

