Bleary-Eyed and Drooling

Posted on

Did I really say I’d post more during the conference?

Silly girl. As if.

I thought I’d be able to post them when I got back to my room each night. But technically, I didn’t get back to my room until after each night had turned to morning and I had to cram as much sleep as possible into the four or five hours before the alarm screamed it was time to start again.

Exhausting. And awesome. But mostly exhausting.

And, um, jet lag. Hello. 7am New York is 5 am Phoenix. By Saturday morning, I was running on fumes and still had 24 hours to go.

In other words, I’ve learned to think things through before I promise blog posts. 😉

I’m home now. Ran to make my connecting flight in Dallas. I have pages of notes and stories and some photos from the SCBWI NY 2010 conference. But right now I’m bleary-eyed and drooling. Today, I will recoup, organize my thoughts, rest my aching feet (whine!) and write the first of several posts sharing what happened at the conference.

Is it possible to experience turbulence sitting at the kitchen table? If I close my eyes, I could swear I’m still on that plane.

Back soon…

5 thoughts on “Bleary-Eyed and Drooling

    Lisa Nowak said:
    February 1, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Glad to hear you had such a great time. Some of my friends here in Oregon attended, which meant they had 50% more jet lag. I don’t know how they did it. Oh yeah, adrenalin.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      February 1, 2010 at 10:35 am

      Adrenaline and lots of caffeine! I wonder if I met any of your friends. I hope they enjoyed the conference, too. Will you be attending the LA conference this summer. Let me know. 🙂

    Lisa Nowak said:
    February 1, 2010 at 11:55 am

    Susanne Young, author of The Naughty List, is one you might have met.

    I might be going to the LA conference. We have friends down there, and that’s where my husband grew up. It depends on finances. I’ll let you know if I wind up going.

    Amy K. Nichols said:
    February 2, 2010 at 10:16 am

    You’re friends with Susanne Young? Awesome. I went to Ben Schrank’s talk on writing for teens, and he talked about Susanne’s book. She was there, but I didn’t talk to her. I wish I had. I just felt a little intimidated, I guess. ??? It was early and I wasn’t out of my shell yet, LOL. She seems very nice. 🙂

    Lisa Nowak said:
    February 2, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    Well, I don’t party with her every night or anything, but we see each other all the time at local writing events through SCBWI and the local kidlit blogger group. She’s having her book signing in a couple of weeks. Should be fun. We have an awesome community of kids authors here in Portland, and the published folks are very supportive, encouraging, and inclusive to the pre-published set. I wouldn’t let myself be intimidate about approaching published authors, if I were you. They don’t bite. 🙂 You should check out Suzanne’s blog. She’s really funny.

Leave a Reply

