3 Things I’m Geeked Out About Right Now

Posted on

This is a cross-post from The Parking Lot Confessional, my writers group blog.

1. The Sketchbook Project at Art House Co-op

Image courtesy of Sketchbook Project website

Kate Barsotti (a talented illustrator I follow on Twitter) posted a link to the Sketchbook Project. I clicked the link and GEEKED OUT. I heard about this last year on NPR and thought it was a really cool idea.

Here’s the gist: You sign up. They send you a sketchbook. You fill it full of your crazy-wonderful-mad artsiness and send it back. They make a digital archive online and send your sketchbook with thousands of others on a national tour. You keep track of where your artwork is and how many times people are checking it out. You get warm fuzzies sharing your work with the country. Your sketchbook then makes a permanent home at The Brooklyn Art Library.

From the Sketchbook Project website:

We know how precious a sketchbook is. You carry it with you everywhere, spending months working on it. It becomes a part of you. When you’re finished, share your hard work with the world. We’ll make sure you stay connected with your sketchbook as it tours the country and after we catalog it in The Brooklyn Art Library.

Needless to say, I’m excited to be involved in it this year. Can’t wait to get my sketchbook and get busy. Oh, and I chose the “storybook” theme. Seemed fitting.

Thanks, Kate, for posting the link!

2. Gorilla Glue

Image courtesy of Gorilla Glue (www.gorillaglue.com)

I love this stuff. I’d heard it was strong, but I had NO idea. It’s really, really strong. Like, really.

So I’m kind of a crafty girl. I mean crafty in the crafty sense. (Though some might say I’m crafty in the other crafty sense.) Anyway. I’m working on this art project. It’s very involved with a lot of different elements and media and parts. I’m having to engineer it…just…right. And Gorilla Glue is keeping it all together, and making it strong.

Strong like gorilla. *beats chest* Ow.

I’ll post pics of the completed project at my blog soon. Can’t wait to show you! In the meantime, I {heart} Gorilla Glue. We’re like this. *sticks fingers together and can’t get them apart*

3. Touch Physics

I’m cautious about putting games on my phone. I’m cautious about games, period. I easily get sucked into games.

Must. Win.

Well, I downloaded Touch Physics and was immediately addicted. Here’s a little video showing what it’s about.

Must. Get. Ball. To. Star.

My kiddo: Mommy, it’s time for dinner.
Me: Just a sec, honey. Mommy’s just about to beat level 29… DOH! Grrrr. Um, I’ll be there in a little bit, honey. This time I’ll get it.

Must. Get. Ball. To. Star.

OK, I don’t really neglect my family to play the game. But waiting in line? Touch Physics. On hold while on the phone? Touch Physics. Taking a break from other projects? Touch Physics.

At least there are only 50 levels. After those 50, I’ll never download another game again. (Please don’t hold me to that.)

I know I have to write a conclusion for this blog post. But. Um. Just give me a sec. I’m gonna go beat level 29 first. I’m sure I’ll get it this time…

3 thoughts on “3 Things I’m Geeked Out About Right Now

    Suzanne said:
    May 12, 2010 at 8:09 am

    I’m staying up far too late launching cartoon birds at green pigs protected by bits of pixelated rock, glass, and wood. I hate it! I have to WIN!

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      May 12, 2010 at 8:15 am

      Bwahahaha! That makes me feel much better about my own addiction, Suzanne!

        Suzanne said:
        May 12, 2010 at 9:47 am

        Don’t gloat or I’ll tell you what app it is…

Leave a Reply

