A Purse Made Out of a Book

Posted on Updated on

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a photo of a painting and said it was part of a larger project. Well, this is the larger project:

I made a purse out of a book.

It’s an idea I’ve had for a long time, and finally completed. The painting is original. The inside is lined with satin. The embellishment on the clasp is taken from a page from Walt Whitman’s Leaves of Grass.

If you’d like me to make you one, contact me. I can fully customize it to fit your tastes. From the book to the lining to the artwork, color choices, handle styles, etc. If you imagine it, I can create it.

11 thoughts on “A Purse Made Out of a Book

    Karen said:
    June 8, 2010 at 9:16 am

    This is so fabulous; I love it! Would be fun to do with kids books as well – so many great covers.

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dex Raven, Amy K. Nichols. Amy K. Nichols said: I made a purse out of a book! Want one? http://wp.me/pBmxU-iM #creativity #art […]

    Kimberly Sabatini said:
    June 8, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I WANT ONE!!!!!!

    Lisa Nowak said:
    June 8, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Oh, you are so flippin’ clever! πŸ™‚ I wish you’d elaborate a bit more on how you made it, though.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      June 12, 2010 at 5:09 pm

      Thank you, Lisa! πŸ™‚ But…I don’t want to elaborate on how I made it. πŸ˜‰

    jameystegmaier said:
    June 8, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    This is incredible! I’m really, really impressed. If I were a woman, I’d want one. (Okay, fine, I still want one, but I’d have to say that it’s European.)

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      June 12, 2010 at 5:10 pm

      Thank you, Jamey. πŸ™‚ I can make you one out of War and Peace and you can call it your Murse.

    Penelope said:
    June 9, 2010 at 6:44 am

    Wow. I love this!

Leave a Reply

