Stuff I Love: Geocaching

Posted on Updated on

I’ve been hit-and-miss on posting this week. I started a flash fiction piece yesterday (typing it on my phone), but didn’t finish. And I neglected to cross-post my 3 Things I’m Not Geeked Out On post from my slot on Wednesday at The Parking Lot Confessional. Ah well. Being on vacation will do that to a person. “The best laid intentions of mice and men often go awry.”

This week I’ve been indulging in one of my favorite pastimes: Geocaching.

Do you know it? Do you love it?

I do.

Here’s the official definition of geocaching, from geocaching.com:

Geocaching is a high-tech treasure hunting game played throughout the world by adventure seekers equipped with GPS devices. The basic idea is to locate hidden containers, called geocaches, outdoors and then share your experiences online. Geocaching is enjoyed by people from all age groups, with a strong sense of community and support for the environment.

It rocks. If you’re at all adventures or inquisitive or fancy yourself a secretive spy or pirate, you should give it a try.

Here are some pics I took after finding what is probably the most thrilling geocache I’ve found yet. Hiked down a steep and rocky incline to get this one. In treadless, girly-pretty sandals. *rolls eyes* Not the smartest way to cache. Somehow I managed not to get sucked into the raging river.

view from cache
view of raging river

If you love geocaching, too, please say hello. I’d love to hear your most thrilling cache story. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Stuff I Love: Geocaching

    […] View post: Stuff I Love: Geocaching « Amy writes… […]

    The OMB said:
    June 15, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    Wow, looks like a great place for a find. My lady and I have just recently fallen in love with Geocaching and have spent the last couple of weekends exploring our area and just having a blast. I think I am really into it (maybe too much) as I have purchased new boots, pants, backpack, GPS, hat, etc…all in the last week. 🙂 I am also keeping track of our little adventures on my blog so feel free to take a peek and hopefully seeing us sticking with it over the summer.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      June 17, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Hi OMB! Thanks for reading and commenting, and for providing the link to your geocaching blog. I will check it out. 🙂 I am finding that geocachers are among the coolest people in the world!

    Lisa Nowak said:
    June 15, 2010 at 1:20 pm

    That sounds like a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

