Stuff I Love: Indie Bookstores

Posted on Updated on

While meandering the 16th Street Mall in Denver last week, I stopped in at The Tattered Cover, an independent bookstore in a cool, old building. I pushed open the wooden doors, ascended the three steps into the store and kind of gasped.

It was awesome.

And it was full of people, which made the awesomeness all the more awesome.

I love indie bookstores.

We don’t have many where I live. We mostly have the big box chains. I have to drive 45 minutes to get to the closest indie store, Changing Hands. It’s worth the drive though. They have everything. So many nooks and crannies full of fascinating books to explore. A lot of great authors stop at Changing Hands to do readings, signings and workshops, too. It’s my favorite local bookstore.

I keep thinking about recent blog posts I’ve read sounding the death knell of the publishing industry and the rise of digital books. How will that affect indie stores? Will they lose business? Will they be forced to close up shop? How awful would that be?

Do you love indie bookstores, too? Which is your favorite? Tell me about it and leave a link in the comments.

And if you’re ever in Denver or Tempe, please visit The Tattered Cover and Changing Hands bookstores. I bet you’ll love them as much as I do.

5 thoughts on “Stuff I Love: Indie Bookstores

    hotmustard said:
    June 19, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    “The Bent Cover” [http://bentcoverbooks.com/] was always a favorite of mine when I lived in AZ. It’s on 28th Dr, not far from MetroCenter. I haven’t been in years, but it used to be very cool.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      June 19, 2010 at 3:46 pm

      The Bent Cover! I wonder if it’s still there. I’ll have to check. šŸ™‚

        S. C. Green said:
        June 19, 2010 at 6:00 pm

        The Bent Cover was still there the last time I checked a month or so ago. I can’t tell you how long I’d been going there before I navigated the labyrinth of book shelves and discovered they had a mini coffee shop there.

    amanda said:
    June 19, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    We don’t have a lot of independent bookstores around here, but one, Anderson’s in Naperville, IL, hosts a LOT of wonderful author presentations and signings. I’ve always daydreamed of opening my own book store someday, and displaying the work of local authors.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      June 20, 2010 at 6:59 am

      Hi Amanda. I’ve had that dream, too. Like Louise Erdrich — being an author and indie bookstore owner. That would be so cool. Glad you have an indie store around you that brings in authors. Thanks for reading and commenting. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

