Keep It Fun

Posted on

A quick post for a quick thought this morning:

I’m finding the less importance I assign to the thing I’m working on, whether it’s writing or art or a craft with the kids, the easier it is. And the more fun I have with it. The minute I put a bunch of pressure on a piece, the work starts feeling heavy. Starts feeling like work. And if I’m not careful, the energy drains away until it feels like slogging through mud.

And of course I’m more willing to devote my time to the thing that’s fun, right?

The key for me is to keep a light outlook on the project at hand. And when I stray from that, to take a break and do something else until the lightness returns.

Do you find this true in your work as well? How do you keep a lightness about your work?

3 thoughts on “Keep It Fun

    tahliaN said:
    July 17, 2010 at 6:14 pm

    This is so true. I never put a deadline or daily word count on myself (a publisher might one day when they want the second in a series but I wouldn’t do it to myself)

    When I see people who set themselves a target of a certain number of words per day, I know I couldn’t do it that way. Once I start a piece I just want to write it down and will use anytime I have to do it. I flow with the inspiration and that’s always fun.

    Luckily I’m not short of inspiration and that took me through to the finish line – at least of writing the novel and getting an agent.

    If you’re interested in what I’ve written, take a look at ch1 of ‘Lethal Inheritance’ (YA fantasy) at
    http://publishersearch.wordpress.com/lethal-inheritance/

    Lisa Nowak said:
    July 20, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I tend to have the same problem with blog posts. I found I wasn’t posting because I felt like I had to say something profound or inspirational. Lately I’ve just been winging it, and it’s easier.

    […] touched on this last week on my Amy Writes blog. Sometimes I find myself putting all kinds of pressure on my […]

Leave a Reply

