I Can Haz Viking

Posted on

Every so often I get creatively antsy. My muse nudges me into minor diversions from writing. These diversions are always quick and frenetic, so I indulge them. I draw. Paint. Get crafty. I even cook, on rare occasion.

Yesterday my muse nudged me toward clay. I’ve long had an idea to sculpt a viking. Coming off of a cold that’s kept me brain-dead most of the week, yesterday felt like the right day to get my hands dirty.

Here’s the end result.

Harold the Bluetooth

The great thing about working with my hands is it frees up my writing brain. So as I pushed and pulled the clay, the story wheels were turning in my brain. Total win-win.

Now I’ve got the clay urge out of the way, and I’m back to writing and wondering what frenetic diversion will come next.

Am I the only creative out there who works this way? Focused on one major creative area, but dabbling in others as well? If you do this, too, I’d love to hear what your creative outlets are and how you balance your projects and ideas.

Thanks for reading. 🙂

8 thoughts on “I Can Haz Viking

    Dana Elmendorf said:
    November 5, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Girl you haz mad skills is what that is. Yes I have tons of other artistic outlets I use and if I didn’t, I’d explode for sure. Thanks for sharing your awesome sculpture, clay is the one tool I can not work with. My brain can’t seem to make it come out like the picture in my head. Double awesome it helped you with your story.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      November 7, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      Thanks, Dana. 🙂 What are some of the artistic outlets you prefer?

        Dana Elmendorf said:
        November 7, 2010 at 5:08 pm

        I love making jewelry. I used to torch glass beads but with kids it’s hard to make to time to do it. (one bead could take an hour) I love to paint whimsical or abstract art. I get really involved in designing my websites, like my twitter background is my favorite.

        Thanks for asking!

        Amy K. Nichols said:
        November 9, 2010 at 5:46 pm

        I didn’t know you did any of those things, Dana! Very cool.

    tahliaN said:
    November 5, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Yes, there’s me. I’m the same. I make masks when my head is too full of words. I also fiddle around on photoshop, tweeking ideas for book covers. Before becoming an author, I was in the performing arts, so I’m always being creative, one way or another.

    You might like my masks. http://tahliasmasks.wordpress.com

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      November 7, 2010 at 4:37 pm

      Your masks are amazing, Tahlia! You are incredibly talented. My favorite, I think, is the gold veil:

      Beautiful! Thank you for sharing the link.

    Jenifer S. said:
    November 6, 2010 at 8:07 am

    Seriously, Amy? Is there nothing that you can’t do? (that sounds like a double negative but I’m sure it isn’t. lol).

    Amazing viking! Hold on to him until next year. In 3rd grade, Z will be studying vikings! She can bring your “buddy” in to share with the class.

    I think I want to be you when I grow up…

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      November 7, 2010 at 4:30 pm

      Thanks, Jenifer! That would be awesome, Z taking him to school next year. Ha!

Leave a Reply

