Boycott James Frey

Posted on Updated on

I will not purchase or read any books written by James Frey. I will not purchase or read any books created by Full Fathom Five.

And I am asking everyone I know — especially teen readers — to do the same.

If you don’t know why read this:

Inside James Frey’s Sweatshop-Like Novel Factory, Full Fathom Five

And then read this:

The James Frey Problem

And this:

Joining the Frey

Don’t give him your time or money. Send his sleazy plan down in flames.

 

Update: The more I look into this, the more it’s becoming clear we may not know which books were created by FFF or Frey. Still, to the extent possible, so long as Frey adheres to this unfair model, I will not spend my money or time on books, movies or products created by him or Full Fathom Five.

3 thoughts on “Boycott James Frey

    kristualla said:
    November 15, 2010 at 12:07 pm

    Thank, Amy! I am passing this on to all my author groups!

    We KNEW he was a sleazeball with his fake memoir – now it is confirmed.

    Aleyna Brown said:
    August 19, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    You should keep an updated list of what you find out is published by his Sweatfactory for novelists.

    I feel bad for the authors because they’re just trying to get work out there but no way to I want to support someone like James Frey.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      August 22, 2011 at 6:57 pm

      I totally agree, Aleyna, and I’ll see what I can do. But because the books are all written under pseudonyms, it’s hard to know which are his projects. It’ll take some digging. Hopefully word will spread which works are his so we can spend our money elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

