Bootstraps and Deadlines

Posted on

*exhale*

This time last week, I’m pretty sure I was heading into a depression. I’ve been there a couple of times before. I know what depression looks like, and I know I don’t want to get on that train again.

Thankfully, some activities I’d schedule about a month ago made me get off the couch and get back to living. It’s still difficult dealing with the pain of losing Holly, and I find the grief comes in waves. At unexpected times. And I accidentally call my kids and our other dog Holly by mistake again and again, which totally sucks. But I’m back to functioning each day, and I’m interested in life again. So that’s good.

And I’m writing. Also good.

It’s so difficult to get the writing wheels turning again after a sudden full-stop. It’s like bicycling uphill. If it weren’t for the couple of deadlines I had to meet this week, I don’t know that I’d have written anything since Holly’s death. So, let’s hear it for deadlines!

Speaking of…

Today is my day to post at The Parking Lot Confessional. This week we’re reflecting back on 2010, and finding three things that impacted us as writers.

You can read my post here: 3 Things to Toast from 2010.

Tomorrow is the 500 Club, and I’m hoping to get a flash fiction piece written and posted here. And I’m also going to post something Christmasy on Friday.

Also, I’m gearing up to publish the second issue of Liminal! Stay tuned.

As always, thanks for reading, and for your awesome support these last couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

