Quasi-Nano

Posted on

Ah, November. I’ve been waiting for this month to arrive. October got all swallowed up with kids home from school and guests from out-of-town. Now it’s November, and I’m ready to get back to work.

This is NaNoWriMo month, and untold numbers of writers will be undertaking the task of completing a 50,000-word novel in 30 days. It’s an ambitious goal, and I love hearing the success stories that come out of it. (Water for Elephants, for example.)

This month, I’m doing my own take on NaNoWriMo. I have a completed manuscript that is in need of heavy renovations. Each day I’m going to working on rewriting the monster in hopes that at month’s end it will be ready to see the light of day. It’s not quite the same as writing 50,000 new words. Rather a mix of old and new writing. A quasi-nano.

To all NaNoWriMo participants out there, I applaud you. You are taking steps toward seeing your writing dreams come true, and that is awesome. I wish you courage and an abundance of words each time you sit to write. Lord knows, finishing a novel takes both.

Happy writing!

One thought on “Quasi-Nano

    Tahlia Newland said:
    November 3, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    Masses and masses of time and committment. I hope it all pays off in the end. I see you edit Liminal, I must try and get some more of my daughter’s art work to you for that.

Leave a Reply

