Writing and Playlists

Posted on

I love music. And I love writing. And I love combining the two. In fact, I create playlists for the projects I’m working on. I choose a song that fits the scene/chapter I’m working on, and then listen to that song on repeat until melts into the background as I write.

Surely I’m not the only writer out there who does this. (RIGHT?! Please tell me I’m not the only one…)

For kicks I thought I’d share the playlist for one recent project, a YA sci-fi thriller. Here are the songs that carried me through the story.

The Beginning of the End by Nine Inch Nails

Atom Bomb by Fluke

Starlight by Muse

Panic Switch by Silversun Pickups

Satellite by Guster

Under the Milky Way by The Church

We Used to Wait by Arcade Fire

Bach’s Mass in B minor (Qui tollis) performed by Dominic Miller

Bleeding by Sixpence None the Richer

Sleeper in the Valley by Laura Veirs

One Headlight by The Wallflowers

Work by Jars of Clay

I’m working on new projects and building new playlists. One apparently involves a lot of French cafe music. Weird. But whatever it takes to set the mood.

So, what’s currently on your writing playlist?

 

2 thoughts on “Writing and Playlists

    caroljforrester said:
    October 11, 2012 at 4:09 pm

    I tend to find that music distracts me no end when I’m writing.

Leave a Reply

