I’m So Glad the World Didn’t End

Posted on Updated on

I don't know who made this, but thanks for the laugh!
I don’t know who made this, but thanks for the laugh!

It’s 3:3o in the afternoon on December 21, 2012, the day the world was supposed to end. The sun is shining, my dogs are sleeping nearby and I just ate a piece of dark chocolate. All is well.

Not just well, but good.

Really good. Here’s why:

Yesterday came the official announcement that my agent sold my YA thriller, ANOTHER HERE, ANOTHER NOW, to Knopf in a two-book deal!

Book one will be released in the fall of 2014, with book two following close behind.

Can I just say: it would have totally sucked to celebrate such an announcement and then have flaming comets fall from the sky.

So, it’s been quite a journey getting to this point – and I’m sure the journey is really just starting – but there are a number of people I need to thank.

First of all, thanks to my husband who listened to me whine for years on end that I wanted to be a writer, and who would always respond with, “Well, then write something.” He has always encouraged me, always supported me, always given me time to write and always kicked me in the pants when I got mopey. Thanks also to my kids who listened to their dad when he said, “Leave mom alone. She’s writing.”

Second, thanks to the friends who supported and encouraged me along the way, some of whom even suffered through my early drafts (ugh!). Among them: Stephen and Amy M., my writing/support group; Jim Sallis, my mentor and friend; Dana, Karen, Nannette, Heather, Amy S., Sara, Kim, James, Doc, the Ghuls, the SCBWI lobby gang (and Jeff for those last-minute fruit chews)… The list could go on and on. I am blessed to have so many awesome people in my life.

And finally, to the best agent EVER, Quinlan Lee of Adams Literary, and to Katherine Harrison, my editor at Knopf, who I am so excited to be working with! Thank you for believing in my story and having faith in my abilities. I can’t wait to see where we take these books!

This is all starting to sound like an Oscar acceptance speech or something equally as awkward, so I’m going to get my feet back on the ground, have another piece of chocolate and enjoy this beautiful day. I hope you all enjoy it, too. Because it’s good. Really good.

7 thoughts on “I’m So Glad the World Didn’t End

    Suzanne Conboy-Hill said:
    December 21, 2012 at 4:29 pm

    Good for you, upstaging the apocalypse! Now go stuff chocolate and get used to feeling valued in a proper authory way 🙂

    leahguinn said:
    December 21, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    That’s so wonderful!!!!! Congratulations!!!!!!!

    kristualla said:
    December 23, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Hallelujah!!! *doing the happy dance* Well deserved and l-o-n-g past due! (Having chocolate on your behalf.)

Leave a Reply

