A Book By Any Other Name…

Posted on Updated on

Did you know The Great Gatsby was almost titled Trimalchio in West Egg?

Or that Bram Stoker first considered The Dead Un-Dead as the title for Dracula?

Here’s a list of 10 famous books that underwent title changes. It’s weird to think about those classics by any other name.

But they’d still be the same books. And they’d still have ended up the classics we know and love.

What’s in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet. – W. Shakespeare

While my book is too young to be a classic (it’s not even born yet!), it has something in common with Gatsby, Dracula, and a slew of other books.

The title is changing!

A couple of months ago, it came to my editor’s attention that another author had a YA scifi book coming out in the spring of 2014 with a very similar title to my book, not due out until the fall. After much discussion, we decided it was best to change our title.

So, I’m excited to tell you, in a very officially official manner, that book one is now titled:

NOW THAT YOU’RE HERE

and book two, which mirrors book one and is due out in 2015, will be titled:

WHILE YOU WERE GONE

When we lock down release dates and other information, I’ll be sure to announce it here. In the meantime, I’m knee-deep in writing book two, revising book one, and right now I’m off to Phoenix Comicon, where I’ll have my first author appearance! So much excitement, I could just explode.

So stay tuned, have a wonderful Memorial Day and if you get a chance, come see me at Comicon!

2 thoughts on “A Book By Any Other Name…

    Mara Berkley said:
    May 25, 2013 at 8:02 am

    Will you be at la cinf. — I am going

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

