Suddenly, there were books with my name on them.

Posted on Updated on

azimuth:0.000000||elevation:0.000000||horizon:0.000000The revisions deadline for WHILE YOU WERE GONE is looming over me like a dark menace, but I had to take time out to post a very cool happening.

I got a package in the mail from my editor, the lovely Katherine Harrison at Knopf, and in the package was books. With my name on them.

My advanced reader copies of NOW THAT YOU’RE HERE had arrived!

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen other authors post pics of their ARCs and wondered what that must be like, seeing your book for the first time. Now I know: it’s a very strange feeling. Do I laugh? Cry? Run around the room screaming? Sit and stare, wondering how this ever happened? All of the above? I imagine at some point all of this will feel very normal. But for now it’s a bit Alice-down-the-rabbit-hole. I keep checking to see if the stack of ARCs is still there, to make sure this isn’t actually some surreal dream.

Yep. They’re still there.

And so is that book two deadline. Best get back to work.

12 thoughts on “Suddenly, there were books with my name on them.

    N. E. White said:
    February 10, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    Congrats! They look great. 🙂

    patriciaacox said:
    February 10, 2014 at 3:26 pm

    I hope it never, ever seems normal to you! Enjoy “all of the above” every time!

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      February 10, 2014 at 9:22 pm

      Thanks, Trish! You’ll be going through this soon, too! 🙂

    jenn kelly said:
    February 10, 2014 at 3:35 pm

    Beautiful! Be proud!!! Laugh, cry, pat yourself on the back! I cannot wait to get one into my hands!!! Congratulations, lovely girl!

    Jerry said:
    February 10, 2014 at 4:09 pm

    Congrats Amy!!!!!

    Lisa said:
    February 11, 2014 at 9:15 pm

    Wow Amy!!! I’m so excited for you! Now… When do they go on sale? I can’t wait to read!!

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      February 11, 2014 at 10:54 pm

      Hey, Lisa! Thanks! The book goes on sale December 9. 🙂

    dex said:
    February 12, 2014 at 10:34 am

    Congratulations! That’s really exciting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

