Saying Goodbye to My Sweet Girl

Posted on Updated on

Pretty girl
Pretty girl

It’s been a difficult couple of days around the Nichols’ household. On Tuesday, Hannah, our 9.5 year old McNab (and Holly’s younger sister), suddenly got very sick. Despite medications, tests, and emergency supportive care, she was too far gone and we had to say goodbye. The vets weren’t sure what caused her illness, but based on her lab results we wonder if she had sudden and severe  pancreatitis complicated by her Addison’s disease that resulted in multiple system failure.

The pain of losing her, and so quickly…it’s hard to put into words. The kids have so many questions. Hobbes, our 2-year old bordernese, is confused.

I wanted to post some pics of Hannah and share a few things about her.

She really was the sweetest dog, with big brown eyes that would melt your heart. She had this funny bark she’d make when she was excited. Imagine Scooby-Doo saying, “Bow-roo?!” Made us laugh every time. She always had a puppy-like quality about her, and loved prancing around the back yard. She obsessed on the lizards who live in the cracks in our yard walls and the ground squirrels who tunneled in our bushes. She was neurotic in a totally hilarious way. She hated the ice maker, the salad spinner, counting, singing, dancing. All of our videos from birthday parties, singing happy birthday, feature Hannah barking along. And counting…when we taught our kids how to count, we’d get to three or four, and she’d bark like crazy. Every morning she greeted me at my bedroom door. She would sit in front of me, put her paws up on my legs and bow her head down so I could scratch her neck. My husband would joke that she looked like she was worshipping me. “Oh great mom…” Every night I’d fluff up her blanket and tuck her in. She’d snuggle her head in my hands and I’d tell her, “Good night, sweet girl. Mama loves you.” The same words I said when she passed away.

It’s going to be difficult getting used to not having her around. Even as I type this, we’re trying to figure out the new morning routine. Hobbes keeps going in and out the back door, looking for her, I think. This is hard. I know time will help, but I miss my girl.

Last night at bedtime, my daughter was crying and questioning and angry. I told her the story about the fortune cookie I got after Holly died. It was good to remember, and I do believe we’ll see them again.

14 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye to My Sweet Girl

    Nannette White said:
    March 21, 2014 at 8:48 am

    I am so sad for your loss. What a sweet girl Hannah was. My heart is breaking for you guys. Hannah was such a sweet and innocent picture of God’s lavish and unconditional love, mixed with His sense of humor. Lots of hugs and love to you.

    Nanners

    Charlene Rehfeldt Bailey Crowe said:
    March 21, 2014 at 3:36 pm

    Bawling my eyes out….tears dripping from my chin, looking at Bonita and going to take her for a walk and make her day happier….to love them while we have them. Many hugs.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      March 21, 2014 at 7:24 pm

      Thank you, Aunt Char. Hugs for you and Bonita, too.

    Susan said:
    March 24, 2014 at 1:24 am

    Sorry Amy

    Ann Davidsen said:
    March 24, 2014 at 6:21 am

    Hi Amy. I am so sorry for your loss of Hannah. I have just finished reading your story and seeing pictures of Hannah as well as reading your 1 year follow up story about Holly, the fortune cookie and having Faith. Amy, thank you for sharing these stories. Your blog has helped me tremendously as I try to find understanding and acceptance of losing our wonderful yellow lab, Ozzie. I, too, have Faith that we will see them again and that belief helps in times of sorrow.

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      March 24, 2014 at 8:27 am

      Hi Ann. Thank you. Faith is the only thing getting me through this right now. My heart goes out to you, too, for your loss of Ozzie. We just have to take it a day at a time. Hugs to you.

        Ann Davidsen said:
        March 24, 2014 at 8:54 am

        Thanks Amy. Yes, time and happy memories help heal the heart.

    lynsirotaL said:
    March 24, 2014 at 10:57 am

    What a sweet girl. I’m so sorry for your loss. It is heart-wrenching to lose a pet, a furry child. When we lost our first furry baby years ago I can’t even describe how I felt. While it isn’t right for everyone, I’m sharing what helped me. I couldn’t bear coming home to a house without a dog so we rescued two pups and they kept me so busy that the pain started to dull from my loss. I don’t think anything else would have helped. Thinking of you…

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      March 24, 2014 at 4:31 pm

      Thank you for your kind words. And I’m sorry you’ve been through this, too. My guess is it won’t be long before we add another fur ball to our crew. We’ve always been a two dog family. Somehow that just feels right. But we have to make sure everyone in the family is ready, including Hobbes. I love that you rescued two puppies at once! 🙂

        lynsirotaL said:
        March 25, 2014 at 7:45 am

        Thanks, Amy. I feel for you and know what you’re going through. It is the toughest. But yet so worth having spent that time with them. I know she loved you very much. Hugs!

    dex said:
    March 25, 2014 at 2:42 pm

    So sorry to hear this.

Leave a Reply

