Hello, my name is Amy, and I am a shmoopy book blubberer

Posted on

While at the Tucson Festival of Books, I participated in “A Book I Love”, a segment of Mark McLemore’s Arizona Spotlight. Basically, you choose a book you love and talk about it for a couple of minutes. Pretty cool, right?

I chose The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak, one of my all time favorite books EVER.

The only thing is, I’m a weepy goober who can’t actually talk about The Book Thief without crying.

I should have known better. I mean, I could have talked about any number of books. There are so many incredible books out there. But whenever someone asks me, “What’s the best book you’ve read lately?” I always return to The Book Thief. So during my two minutes, I talked about The Book Thief…and I cried like a shmoopy blubberer.

Sigh.

Those who know me well are nodding their heads. They’re used to me getting verklempt.

There is an upside. When I played the segment for my daughter, she buried her face in her hands and said, “You are so embarrassing.” There are few things in life as satisfying as embarrassing your tween daughter.

Maybe there’s another upside as well. Perhaps my genuine, emotional reaction to this wonderful book will cause others out there to read it. I just hope they have their tissues ready. Especially if they’re weepy book goobers, too.

Click here to listen to A Book I Love (and me, blubbering). I’m the last speaker on the audio segment, located below the first video.

3 thoughts on “Hello, my name is Amy, and I am a shmoopy book blubberer

    Charlene Rehfeldt Bailey Crowe said:
    March 24, 2014 at 9:37 pm

    Yes, The Book Thief, seconded only by The Cellist of Sarjaevo…..Sp?

    N. E. White said:
    March 25, 2014 at 11:55 am

    Your emotional, but you didn’t completely lose it. You have made me want to read it. 🙂

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      March 25, 2014 at 12:06 pm

      Oh good! Thank you for that reassurance. 🙂 I realized I made a mistake in it, too, saying the story takes place in Poland, when in fact it’s Germany. I think the emotions caused a misfire in my brain, and I momentarily confused the location with that of Between shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetis, which I highly recommend, too!

Leave a Reply

