San Diego Comic-Con 2014 Recap

Posted on Updated on

I got back from San Diego Comic-Con Sunday night. Here it is Wednesday morning and I’m just starting to feel human again.

This was an interesting year for me at SDCC. I might even go so far as to call it pivotal. Not to wax philosophical, but I learned a lot about humanity this year. And about myself.

The biggest highlight was Random House giving out advanced copies of NOW THAT YOU’RE HERE at their booth. That was a real milestone. I was able to sign a few of those ARCs for people as well, which was a total blast. Blows my mind to think in just a few months my book will actually be out in the world.

Another highlight was the friends I made over the course of just a few days. This year I befriended two awesome guys who write for Bleeding Cool, a stem cell biologist, a geography professor, a producer for Disney, an opera singer, an astrophysicist. Really wonderful and generous people. I even camped out with some of them overnight on a sidewalk to get into Hall H for the Hobbit and Marvel panels. Nothing quite as bonding as sharing sidewalk space for 12+ hours. I really hope to see them again next year.

And then, of course, there were the celebs. I got to see Benedict Cumberbatch, had a very brief and funny encounter with Guillermo del Toro, got a photo taken with Adam Baldwin, met Stampy Longnose (my kids freaked out!). Just awesome all around.

There were a couple of things that happened this year that opened my eyes to the uglier sides of humanity, too, and brought up a lot of conflicting emotions inside. Through these situations I learned I’m stronger than I think. They also made me examine how much I’m willing to allow people to hurt me with their words and actions. My instinct is always to extend kindness in the face of inconsiderate and critical people. I learned some valuable lessons this year on protecting myself, protecting others, knowing where lines are and to stand up for myself when they’ve been crossed. I may blog more about this later. Not sure.

Despite that (or perhaps in light of it), I had a great time at SDCC14. Here is a gallery of photos I took along the way. (The Avengers pics are blurry, sorry. The place was insane. And I may have been shaking.)

Tomorrow I’m off to LA for the SCBWI conference, and I’ll have lots to say about that when I get back. In the meantime, hope you enjoy these photos.

4 thoughts on “San Diego Comic-Con 2014 Recap

    kristualla said:
    July 30, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    OMG! The “Outlander” poster is AWESOME. Talk about marketing, Starz isn’t missing beat. I’m hosting viewing parties starting August 9 – wanna come? 😉

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      July 30, 2014 at 1:31 pm

      Oooh! Maybe! Lemme check the schedule. Thanks!

      Amy K. Nichols said:
      July 30, 2014 at 1:31 pm

      And yeah, marketing off the hook! The Outlander booth was swarmed the entire time.

    Rissa Watkins said:
    July 31, 2014 at 12:29 pm

    How exciting! One of these days I hope to make it to this con!

Leave a Reply

