Mark a course for 2015. Engage.

Posted on Updated on

So…here we are.

2015.

Every year I choose a word that sums up my intention for the year. Last year, with my first book being published, I chose the word “launch”.

This year, with one book out in the world and another on the way*, my word is…

Engage.

en·gage (verb) \in-‘gaj, en-\

: to get and keep (someone’s attention, interest, etc.)

: to bring together and interlock <the gears engaged>

JLPOf course ‘engage’ makes me think of Jean-Luc Picard. Which makes me want to drink tea, Earl Grey, hot. And shave my head. No, wait. Not shave my head. But tea, yes. Always tea.

Anyway, my goal this year is to engage readers, both online and in person. Now That You’re Here has received really great reviews, and I’ve been getting emails from readers who have enjoyed it (which, seriously, is an author’s dream come true). Now it’s a matter of spreading the word that there’s a fun new science-y book out there that tweens and teens will enjoy. To do this, I need to engage with my audience. I began by redesigning my website, making it more me, and I’ve been setting up events where I can chat with readers.

First up is YAllapalooza at Changing Hands Tempe on January 24 at 4pm. It’s going to be so much fun! Hope to see you there.

In March, I’ll be down in Tucson for the Tucson Festival of Books, doing panels, signing and workshops. More on that soon.

Online, I’ll be blogging here (duh), as well as at the Parking Lot Confessional and YA Outside the Lines. The PLC is also continuing our geeky writing podcast, Curb Chat, which is so much fun, I can’t even tell you. Definitely check it out.

My other goal this year (and always) is to engage my creativity. My brain is brimming with ideas and my heart is full of hope of seeing more stories published. It’s time to put the pedal to the metal and get the gears turning. Or rather, the fingers typing.

So, without further ado, here’s to a great 2015!

Engage.

Make it so.

*While You Were Gone, the second book in the Duplexity series, will be published by Knopf on August 4! More news to come!

 

Leave a Reply

